Idaho Vital Records

Idaho Vital Records

The Office of Vital Records is responsible for maintaining all state-level vital records created, administered and maintained by the state of Idaho regarding a person’s most important life events. These records include such documents as birth certificates, marriage licenses, and death certificates and are compiled and stored in a permanent central registry state entities uses to develop statistical analysis of its population.

Birth Records

A birth certificate is a vital record that documents the birth of a child. The term "birth certificate" can refer to either the original document certifying the birth or to a certified copy or representation of the original document. The state of Idaho organizes the birth records into two categories based on the sources the information was/ is collected and the timeline the records were/ are gathered from, which includes: early-1911 and 1911-present.  The first government recorded birth records in Idaho were kept in the 1870s by midwives who sent their reports to county clerks. These are very limited in scope and numbers. Occasionally, delayed birth certificates were issued by the State of Idaho. The counties were officially required to keep registers of births from 1907 to 1911. The Idaho State Historical Society (PARL) in Boise and the Family History Library has acquired microfilm copies of most of the county recordings from all counties.  The state of Idaho register a statewide registration of birth records in 1911 and was generally complied with in the western part of Idaho by the early 1920s. Eastern and northern Idaho were much later in compliance.  Delayed birth certificates were occasionally issued to satisfy passport, Social Security and other requirements.

Death Records

A death record is most likely a copy of the information contained in a person’s death certificate. The state of Hawaii manages death records into the following categories: early-1911 and 1911-present. The counties were officially required to keep registers of deaths from 1907 to 1911. The Idaho State Archives in Boise and the Family History Library have acquired microfilm copies of most of the county recordings from all counties. Generally, deaths were recorded less frequently than births. After 1911, deaths occurring in Idaho are included in a statewide registration program operated by the State. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death. Close family members may obtain copies of certificates for more recent years as per state access restrictions.

Marriage/Divorce Records

A marriage/divorce record is issued by a government official only after civil registration of the marriage/divorce occurs. The state of Idaho organizes marriage/divorce records into two categories based on the sources the information was/is collected from, which includes early-1947 and 1947-present. The county recorders have marriage records since the date each county was organized.  In addition to the registers, most counties will also have the original marriage applications.  These are especially valuable if one or both marriage parties are under legal age as permission from the parent or guardian is included. The Family History Library has microfilmed most of the pre-1950's registers.

Why Vital Records are Available to the Public?

In 1990, the Idaho State Legislature passed a law named the Idaho Public Records Act. This law was enabled with the last changes in 2007 and aims to ensure disclosure of court records and other public records to the public: TITLE 74 TRANSPARENT AND ETHICAL GOVERNMENT.

Every person throughout the state can request access to access all public records through the assigned specialized offices within its determined terms.

What Does Vital Records Access mean to You?

The law is similar to the Idaho Open Meetings Law legislates the methods by which public meetings are conducted at the Idaho Public Records Act intent is that all records maintained by state and local government entities be available for public access and copying.

Idaho State Archives

State Archives

Contact: (208) 268-6993

Results Include

Full State Record Report:

  • Name
  • Location
  • Case Number
  • Case Summary
  • Docket
  • Police Report
  • Court Documents
  • Legal Records
  • Case File
  • Statements
  • Transcripts
  • Legal Forms
  • Case Notes
  • Disposition
  • Trial Records
  • Arbitration
  • Case Evidence
  • Witnesses
  • Interviews
  • Descriptions
  • Mugshots
  • Charges
  • Legal Motions
  • Attorney Records
  • Prosecution Records
Idaho Twin Falls County Courthouse 1910

Idaho Twin Falls County Courthouse 1910

  • State Archives hold over 123,000 cubic feet of records.
  • There are 2 levels of Courts: trial and appellate.
  • There are 7 Idaho District Courts in each judicial district.
  • There are 7 judicial districts in Idaho.
  • The highest Court in Idaho is Idaho Supreme Court.
  • Hand&Voices
  • Pawsitive Works
  • TheIdahoFoodbank
  • The First Tee
  • Palouse-Clearwater